Someone will try to run you down | © Fola Daniel Adelesi

It could be a deliberate strategy and it may be something they are doing unintentionally. Whichever one it is, one thing you should expect is that there are those who will try to run you down. They will never see the good in what you are doing and when you listen to such people, you will lose your confidence and even much more.

One of the things I have experienced while trying to do my own thing is people who try to run me down. You will meet these people all the time and that’s one of the reasons you must ensure you raise your confidence level. When you raise your confidence level, no one will be able to run you down and talk you out of what you are supposed to be doing.

Some years back, I was working with someone who said to me, ‘you can’t even write.’ I laughed and didn’t say a word because I know myself. This is just one person who probably does not like my style of writing or didn’t just like one or two lines in that piece I wrote that day. So the entire piece was condemned because of one or two lines. At that time, it was a good thing that I had been writing for several years and had also published at least three books. My first book which was co-authored with a few other friends went through a very strict English Professor. When it was published we got really good feedback and I had also been writing online for a while. I have since published two books. The comments have been very encouraging.

Well, if you ask me, ‘Fola, can you write?’ My answer will be, ‘a couple of people have paid me to write and they were not disappointed.’ I don’t think people will give their money to someone who can’t write and still do it again.

Now this is not to say you should not listen to other people if they have some positive criticisms for you. That’s different from someone running you down. No matter how good you are at something, there’s always a way to do it better. Even when something looks like the best today, there will always be something you can add to it to improve it. You need to listen to people if they are providing feedback. I can as well say that those who try to run you down are also providing feedback. You should only review what they’ve said to see if there are things you can use to make yourself or work better. When you have done that and there is nothing constructive in what they have told you, please move on.

Your life is too precious to be spent around those who don’t believe in you and will only keep running you down. Once you listen to someone once or twice and they have nothing good to say to you, keep moving.

Your faith in your own ability – confidence – will ultimately determine what you do at the end of the day. It’s only important for you to note that if you are listening to the wrong person, your confidence will greatly reduce. When you listen to the right people – those who believe in you and will be kind enough to give you honest reviews – your confidence will rise for the right reasons.

I must warn that you should not allow the confidence get into your head at whatever time. Keep your cool and keep doing what you know how to do best. Don’t let anyone run you down or talk you out of your game.

Leave a Reply

