Why some of us didn’t stay in paid jobs | © Fola Daniel Adelesi

I appreciate the fact that I discovered myself very early in life. That happened to some other people as well and I have come to see that its hard to keep such people and ask them to play by a certain rule. They have discovered themselves and they know where they are going for the rest of their lives. It will be a waste of time to expect some of such people to stay in paid jobs and hope to rise through the cadre.

Very many people have made it look like it is a very bad habit to not be able to stay in a job for too long. I think you can say that only for very lazy people. When you are talking to people who have dreams and ambitions, I totally disagree with those who think they should stay on a job for too long.

I don’t know about you but when I tried to take up some jobs, I just could not stay on for too long. I was too creative to stay in a rigid environment. There were ideas flying in my head and I just felt I was wasting my time sitting behind a desk everyday and waiting salary at the end of the month.

You say this is a liberation article because I am writing this so you know you are not alone. I want to clear the fact that I am not asking people not to stay some something for a long time. I will never say such a thing. The only thing I am saying is that if you are doing something and you do not derive some pleasure in it, there is no point doing it just because of money.

If you are in a job and you are frustrated by everything that the job represents, why continue just because of the money? I think that those who continue with jobs they are frustrated on may be people who, at that moment, don’t have any other place to go and they have bills to pay. So technically, they are stuck until they get another job or a miracle break.

There are those of us who are not stuck because we have ideas for what to do so it just might be hard to keep us in a job for too. Long. However, when you find us doing the things that we are passionate about then you will see that we actually have the ability to stay on something for as long as we want too.

The perception of the corporate world is wrong. It only judges your patience or persistence by how long you stayed on a job even when the person involved did not add any value in all those years.

If you think you have some very creative things to do, please follow them and make sure you stick with them. You will be happier when you follow the things you really are passionate about and not the job that someone thinks you should stay on for a long time.

Let me conclude by saying, Ideas may keep pushing you to move out and start something. It is a nice thing to follow ideas but make sure it is not just an idea that’s in vogue for that moment. It has to be a deep seated idea that defines who you are. It has to be what you want to do all your life if there was no other job to be done. Once you are certain you are launching into what will give you peace and fulfilment then I think you can set out and give it your best without being caged in the name of doing a job.  

Fola Daniel Adelesi
President/CEO,
Edible Pen.

Mobile:     +234 (0)803 416 3006
Business:  +234 (0)809 972 7293
http://www.foladaniel.org
http://www.ediblepen.org
info@foladaniel.com
fola-daniel – Skype
@foladaniel – Twitter
http://www.facebook.com/foladanieladelesi
http://www.youtube.com/user/foladaniel

Edible Pen » Public Speaking | Business Development and Management Training | Business Proposals | Consulting | Blog Training | +234 (0)803 416 3006 |info@ediblepen.org

My books are now available on http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/foladaniel Please go there to buy. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

